CBSE Grade System

CBSE Grade System

Central Board of Secondary Education(CBSE) is a national level board of education in India for both private and public schools. CBSE is undertaken by the Union Government of India. CBSE follows the NCERT curriculum meticulously. The curriculum was formed in 1962. More than 19,300(approx.) and 200(approx.) schools are affiliated to CBSE both in India and Foreign countries respectively.

CBSE has a different grading system which also differs from 10th and 12th grade. For 10th grade, CBSE not only focuses on academics but also on extra-curricular activities. From 2009 CBSE had CCE pattern for 10th grade(continuous and comprehensive evaluation) which was an assessment type system that became a mandatory one by Right to Education(RTE). The main aim of this pattern was to reduce the workload given to the students using continuous evaluation based on work-experience skills, teamwork, public speaking and a lot of other activities; this helped for those students who are not able to score good in academics and ultimately became a magic wand for them. This helped a lot of students to showcase their talent in various fields of arts, humanities, sports, music, dance, etc.

During CCE, it had a former grade scaling pattern (i.e) from grade A1 to E2 starting from 90% and above to 20% and below respectively. The mark sheet in this system had columns of FA1, FA2, SA1 and FA3, FA4, SA2 which was indicated in grades(points) and the mark sheet also has two stars in any two main subjects indicates up-gradation caused due to the extra-curricular activities, the CGPA(Cumulative Grade Point Average) was the tool used in CCE pattern which is calculated as

CGPA=sum of main points obtained in five main subjects/5.

In 2017 the CCE system was canceled by bringing back the Annual Board Exam replacing the Formative and Summative Assessments under the Remodeled Assessment Pattern. Presently CBSE follows the Annual Board Exam pattern wherein 10th-grade students will be facing the Annual Examination and their final report will be in marks and not in grade points(like the CCE pattern). In the present 10th mark sheet there are five columns that tell the marks obtained in theory and practicals, the total, the total in words, and the positional grade respectively. Therefore, there is a lot of difference in the CBSE system (by comparing the year) between the years 2009-2017 and 2017-2019.

When it comes to CBSE grade system in 12th grade, the students face Annual Examination and this being a crucial point for the students the mark sheet shows their marks obtained in theory as well as practicals. Here academics only speaks unlike in 10th grade. Students face a paper for 100 marks, and the total is for 500 marks. The total divided by 5 gives the percentage of the student which is more important to get into institutions. CBSE does not have languages in 12th grade except for English, instead will have one subject which is related to opted course replacing the word.

CBSE conducts its final examination in, and the results are announced mostly at the end of May. Even though CBSE is changing its pattern, but it always prescribes NCERT for theory. It also conducts AIPMT(All India Pre Medical Test), JEE(IIT Joint which got merged with AIEEE), NEET examinations for the students to know their potential. The main aim of CBSE is to define appropriate approaches for academic purposes, to teach knowledge practically, and to increase the creativity of and for the students.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: