IELTS Writing Section

IELTS Writing Section

The International English Language Testing System is an international examination conducted by the British Council to act as a screening test for non-native English speakers. Aside from the British Council, it is also managed by IELTS Australia and Cambridge. IELTS is one of the major English language tests in the world apart from TOEFL, TOEIC, etc.

IELTS is accepted by most universities in

  • Britain
  • Canada
  • Australia
  • New Zealand  
  • Ireland.

IELTS also plays an extremely crucial role when applying for VISA abroad since it is the only language proficiency test that is accepted by UK Immigration and is also accepted by the Australian government while applying for VISA and immigration.

A unique feature of the IELTS exam compared to other proficiency exams would be the lack of a minimum score required to pass the examination. It has a score range starting from 1 (non-user) to 9 (proficient user). It also awards a score of 0 to those who were unable to take the examination. Usually, each institution sets its criteria when it comes to selecting candidates and setting minimum requirements. It is also advised to the institutions to not consider a certificate of claim until and unless it is less than two years old.

The history of IELTS dates back to 1980 when it was first launched in conjecture with the Cambridge Assessment and British council. The main focus of the exam was on establishing test tasks that would help candidates to utilize the language and its skills on an everyday basis. The first turnout of candidates for the IELTS exam was meager, however, continued to gain global recognition as a result of which the number of test-takers in the subsequent years rapidly increased. IELTS went live in 1989 and introduced two non-specialized and specialized modules each.

The two modules that the IELTS test is divided into are

  • Academic Module
  • General Training Module.

The total run time of the test is 2 hours 45 minutes and is comprised of 4 different sections.

Sections of IELTS Exam: 

  • Listening: 30 minutes
  • Reading: 60 minutes
  • Writing: 60 minutes
  • Speaking: 11-14 minutes

Coming specifically to the writing section of the paper, it comprises of two separate tasks. The first task demands the candidate to write about 150 words in 20 minutes and the second task comprises of the candidate finishing about 250 words in 40 minutes.
For IELTS Academic test-takers, Task 1 comprises of them to break down pictorial representation of data in the form of bars, graphs, or tables and describe them in their own words. Task 2 asks the candidate to present their views and perspectives coherently. Candidates may be asked to present an argument, justify, debate a statement, or produce solutions to problems.
For the IELTS General Training program, the first task comprises of candidates writing a structurally sound-letter responding to everyday scenarios and task 2 comprises of a general essay about various topics and interests.
Thus IELTS provides a well-rounded language proficiency program for non-native speakers who are looking to enhance their skills or apply for opportunities abroad.

One thought on “IELTS Writing Section

  1. Thanks for this article. I might also like to say that it can always be hard if you are in school and simply starting out to create a long credit ranking. There are many learners who are simply just trying to endure and have long or beneficial credit history can be a difficult element to have.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: