LLB Courses in India

The Bachelor of Laws is a three-year undergraduate course in law. It is offered by various institutes across the country, all private, government and government-aided. There is also a five-year integrated course available that awards the Master’s degree as well as the Bachelors’s degree. In India, there is no minimum age requirement as such. You need to have a certain aggregate in your 12th grade or its equivalent. The cut-offs depend upon the institute or college or the entrance exam that you are taking.


The subjects in the first year include Legal Method, Legal History, Political Science, and Sociology, amongst others. The second-year has subjects like Family Law, Constitutional Law, Law of Crimes, Advocacy Skills, and Business Law. The third-year includes subjects like the Code of Civil Procedure, Law of evidence, Corporate Law, French/German, and Public International Law. The fourth and fifth-year subjects depend on whether you have taken up the integrated course or not. If you have, the fourth year includes Law and Technology, Tax Law, Labor Law, etc. and the fifth year has Legal ethics, Legal Writing, Drafting, Pleading, and Conveyance in store. The last year also includes a dissertation and an internship to complete the course.


The Best Universities in Law across India Include:

  • National Law School of India University, Bangalore
  • NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad
  • National Law Institute University, Bhopal
  • National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata
  • ILS Law College, Pune
  • National Law University, Jodhpur
  • Symbiosis Society’s Law College, Pune
  • Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar
  • Amity Law University, Delhi
  • New Law College, BVDU, Pune


The following entrance exams are conducted nationally for admission into government and private colleges both:

  • Standard Law Admission Test (CLAT).
  • It is undertaken by NLUs all over the country (except NLU Delhi). The exam will take place on May 13, 2020.
  • The NLUs that accept CLAT scores for admissions are NALSAR, NLSIU, WBNUJS, NLU, NLIU, and GNLU.


  • This is the entrance exam conducted independently by NLU Delhi.
  • This test is for admission in all courses, including LLB, BA-LLB, LLM, and Ph.D.

LSAT- Law School Admission Test

  • LSAT is a test whose marks are considered worldwide in a lot of law schools. It is conducted four times a year and is accepted by Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, IIT Kharagpur Law School, Galgotia University Law School, The Jindal Global Law School, UPES Dehradun, SRM University, Amity Law School and many more.

SET: Symbiosis Entrance Test

  • It allows admission into the Symbiosis Law schools in Pune and Noida. It offers 300 seats in the five-year integrated course and 60 seats in the three year LLB course.

DET- Delhi University Entrance Test

  • Conducted by Delhi University for admissions to various law programs run by the Faculty of Law Department of Delhi University for PG admissions to LLB and LLM.


  • The Banaras Hindu University Undergraduate Entrance Test has a law portion to it as well for admission to the BHU Law College.


  • The general fees for a year in an LLB or BBA-LLB course is 2.5 to 3 lakhs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: