Ministry of Law and Justice

Ministry of Law and Justice

The term ministry is one of the governmental organization which headed by a minister, to govern a specific subdivision of public administration. Government of India has many types of ministries such as the ministry of defense, ministry of finance, ministry of justice, ministry of foreign affairs, ministry of interior, ministry of education, ministry of health and ministry of law and justice.

The Ministry of law and justice is one of the uppermost section of government of India when the Charter Act 1833 was enacted by the British parliament, which deals with the management of legal affairs, legislative activities and administration of justice in India under the three departments that are a department of legal affairs, legislative department and department of justice. The ministry is headed by rank minister selected by the president on the commendation of prime minister. Its headquarters is located at Cabinet Secretariat Raisina Hill, New Delhi. The first law and justice minister was B.R. Ambedkar, and the present minister for law and justice is Ravi Shankar Prasad.

The department of legal affairs advice the ministries on all the legal matters as well as analysis of constitution and laws.
The legislative department is concerned with the drafting of principal legislation for the central government, a bill that has to be introduced in parliament, ordinances to be circulated by the president; it also deals with the election laws and representation of people act 1951. Department maintains up to date the statutes enacted by parliament.

Department of Justice appoints the chief justice of India as well as is concerned with the removal and resignation of the same. Implementation of many schemes to facilitate progress and upgrading of infrastructure for the judiciary. Formation of all India judicial service.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: