Open University in India

Open University in India

Open Universities are like a boon to every country by the government. It is a non-official system of education and caters to the needs of advanced education. It is a distance learning education system with innovations in educational tools.

ADVANTAGES of Open Universities:

  • Open universities go after no classroom teaching method. Hence the fees are reasonable and payable by all groups of people from wealthy families to low-income families.
  • In Open universities there is no age limit; any person can pursue higher education.
  • Open universities provide training through the open-door educational plan.
  • Open universities can hold thousands of students.
  • Open universities function under UGCs. Hence the degree offered is UGCs permitted and applicable everywhere.
  • The main aim of these universities is to provide equal chances for everyone to learn and gain knowledge.
  • Open universities also offer relaxation during the program.

Open universities are idyllic for people who cannot attend regular classes for any reason, students residing in remote areas, it is beneficial for the poor as the fees of these universities are not much high and it is best suited for people who want to continue their education after a gap of years due to some personal reasons.

The following are the 14 open universities in India for Engineering Graduation, Ph.D. and MBA, approved by AICTE and UGC recognized:

1) Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU), New Delhi
2) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Open University (BRAOU), Hyderabad
3) Vardhaman Mahaveer Open University (VMOU), Kota
4) Nalanda Open University (NOU), Patna
5) Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University (YCMOU), Nasik
6) Madhya Pradesh Bhoj Open University (MPBOU), Bhopal
7) Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University (BAOU), Ahmadabad
8) Uttarakhand Open University, Nainital
9) Tamil Nadu Open University (TNOU), Chennai
10) Krishna Kanta Handiqui State Open University, Guwahati
11) Karnataka State Open University (KSOU), Mysore
12) Pt. Sunderlal Sharma Open University (PSSOU), Bilaspur
13) Netaji Subhas Open University (NSOU), Kolkata
14) UP Rajarshi Tandon Open University (UPRTOU), Allahabad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: